The Big 21st

For those of you live in the States, you can probably already guess what this post is about, the big 21st birthday, when you’re finally fully considered an adult in the United States. We’ve all seen the movies and know the things that go on. You know, the bar hopping, club hopping, getting wasted until you can’t even remember your name.

My question is though, why? Why is it such a common thing to get so wasted on your 21st birthday? Let’s be honest here, most people have started drinking way before they turn 21. (You know it’s true.) So why make an even bigger deal about it when you turn 21? Sure, you can LEGALLY drink now, but why the big fuss if you’ve been doing it illegally for years already?

I recently turned 21, (on the 17th for that matter). Not once in that entire night did I drink 1 drop of alcohol. It’s not something that interests me. I don’t see the point of drinking it, especially if you drink it just to get wasted.
Here’s what my night consisted of:
1.) A dinner at a small Mexican restaurant (hilarious, I know) in Anoka.
2.) Dessert in a small little pastry shop in Anoka as well (has some mint chocolate thing that was really good)
3.) A hilariously inappropriate musical called “Young Frankenstein” (only inappropriate because my boyfriend’s parents were with us too).
4.) And finally going back home to blow out a candle on a small vanilla cupcake.

All of that and not one drop of alcohol, and guess what? I had a blast!

So why do we feel the need to drink? Especially to excess when turning 21?
Maybe it’s because I have never really wanted to drink in the first place. It’s just something that never seemed important for me.

Tell me, what are your thoughts? Anyone agree with me? Or am I just alone on this thought? How about stories of your 21st birthday? I’ve love to know! 🙂